Rotary Club lending support to re-furbish 'wheel'
The club is supporting a community project that ties the symbol of Rotary with a symbol of our town's heritage. The project to restore the Water Wheel, which was located at site of the original Chambers' settlement called "Falling Spring."
Over the years, the Water Wheel fell into disrepair but is now getting some much-needed attention. The Wheel was removed and is currently at its temporary home at the Franklin County CareerTech Carpentry Shop where it is being refurbished by the CareerTech carpentry students under the guidance and supervision of Todd Swan, Carpentry Instructor.
Bucket paddles and braces are gradually being reversed and replaced. Rotted pieces are being removed. The outer metal bands have been removed and are being ground to clean them up. Larger wood is being ordered to replace rotted circumference pieces.
The students are gaining some valuable experience in the Art of woodwork historic preservation. After much hard work the end is in sight for the Water Wheel project, although there is still a lot to be done. Another month of work until summer break, and then back at it in September when school resumes. By June, we should be able to estimate a "best guess" date for completion and re-installation in the fall. Stay tuned.
Now here's your history lesson - In 1730, Benjamin Chambers settled at the confluence of the Conococheague Creek and Falling Spring Creek. Water mills (a grist mill and a saw mill) were constructed near the then-26-foot high waterfall. The creek provided power to the mills, and the settlement later became Chambersburg. The word "Conococheague" is translated from the Delaware Indian (Unami-Lenapi), which means "many-turns-river."